This assignment introduced me to a great resource and also led me to create a practical lesson plan I can use this fall.  While using an RSS Feed reader, like Feedly, can be great for everyday life for staying up to date, it can also be a great tool for a social studies classroom.  Feedly was easy to set up and provides great “starter-kits” for new users.  I was able to find some great education sites to follow, as well as news sites.  I love the ability to view all of these sources up-to-date and in one place.  This helped inspire me to create my lesson plan.  While Feedly can be a great resource for current events, I wanted to make a connection to “past.”  After a lot of thought, I decided to create an “On this day in history” lesson plan.  Students would use provided links to discover events from the past that happened on the day of the lesson.  Then they would use Feedly to access the most current news sources.  After evaluating the events, students would create a blog post in Blogger, titled “On this day in history,” combining what they learned about the past with the current events.  My school uses Google Apps for Education and all students have created a Blogger using their Google Account.  Overall, I can see how this lesson could be a great way to engage students in both content and technology.  Feedly and other RSS Feed Readers will be a great tool to use this upcoming school year.   However, it was challenging to discover a way to incorporate an RSS Feed Reader into a lesson, while still relating to my content area.

I also enjoyed learning how to use Screencast-o-matic.  It was challenging to use at first, but after a couple of “trys” I was able to create a flip video on how to use Feedly.  This will be a great tool as I work towards a “flipped” classroom in the upcoming years.  One thing I would like to learn is how to make the transitions between takes look “smoother” so it seems more seamless to a viewer.

If I had more time, I would have worked on adding more examples to my student worksheet, for students to use as a guide.  I also think that with more time, I might have found another tool for the students to create an “On This Day in History” project.  While I think Blogger is a great way to start, I would have liked to have researched other tools that student could use to combine both content and technology.

Currently, I am unable to test this lesson since it is summer break.  However, I think this would be a good activity for my students to do early on in the year.  It will help introduce them to two new tools, while also getting them excited about the content.

 

