This week I learned about content curation and how to be an effective curator.  Curation is the process of collecting resources and adding meaning to them, in a place where all interested in the topic can view.  Before when I thought of curation, I consider the digital text sets I have created for my students or resources I have shared with my colleagues on different educational topics.  But these examples were more “collections” of resources, rather than curated materials.  Adding meaning plays a large role in becoming a curator rather than a collector.  To assist people in curating material, my PLN members and I created a Curation Criteria Checklist.  We collaborated throughout the week using Google Docs and email to complete our checklist.  Our ideas blended together well and our final product has given me a great checklist to use when curating materials.

I am excited to use the concept of curation in both my professional growth and in my classroom.  Curating materials for professional growth will help me to gain a better understanding of a topic, but putting in a place for for others to view will benefit all in my PLN.  I can also see the benefits in my classroom.  I would love to have my students grow as “curators” of resources.  Many of the resources provided in this module suggested having students curate materials on a topic, rather than have the resources always come from the teacher.  I think this is a great way to have students study a topic, gain ownership in their learning, and practice 21st century skills.

This week I will be curating materials related to my content area.  I am planning to use Scoopit for this assignment and am looking forward to seeing the benefits of a new digital tool!

