president-unit-overview3-fw

Students in 8th grade American History will be using this image as an overview for the unit of study.  This will be used throughout the unit and eventually become linked to the corresponding units.  Students should be able to understand the titles on this graphic and their associating materials.  

I chose to represent this overview as if it were a road.  Earlier suggestions on my graphics mentioned to include the road so I thought I would give it a shot.  I went back and forth on this multiple times, but eventually came up with this graphic.  To help with the understanding of my graphic I used many of the organizational techniques to show hierarchy.  I used numbers to show the progression of the lessons.  I also used a flowchart model to show that the title is the overarching idea, while the “exits” below fit into this hierarchy.  I also used arrows to show the “Strong” connections from the unit to the smaller lessons (Lohr, 146).  I was torn about some of my colors in this image.  Traditionally my images have had the red, white and blue theme.  However to fully show the road and exit signs I changed those colors to match what we naturally assume they are.  I chose to keep the traditional blue up top show it would stand out.  This contrast can help convey that this information is the most important to read for this graphic (Lohr, 133)

I remade this image several times.  The title I kept, for the most part, the same from the start.  The main changes happened with the lesson titles.  I originally had them matching my past color schemes.  I even eliminated the road at one point because I felt it didn’t match.  But after consulting with my fiance I decided to add the road back in and make it even more authentic with the exit signs for each lesson.

Lohr, L. (2008). Creating graphics for learning and performance: Lessons in visual literacy. Upper Saddle River, NJ: Pearson.

